Skip to main content

Upper School

(Grades 9-12)

A deep and well-rounded experience

很容易认出mg冰球突破试玩的学生.

They are independent and curious. 他们积极地投入学习. 他们可以在整个高中学习,研究或向同龄人提供帮助. mg冰球突破试玩的学生热爱学习,这种热情在他们所做的一切中都很明显.

在为大学及以后的学习做准备时,课程特别强调:

  • 在写作和研究方面有很强的基础
  • Critical thinking and innovation
  • 科学探索和问题解决
  • 精通世界语言和文化
  • Collaboration with peers and adults
  • Establishing a world view
  • 欣赏和从事艺术
  • Balancing freedom and responsibility

students lined up on colorful wall

教师顾问在mg冰球突破试玩的各个方面给予智慧和支持,创造了一种关怀和个人关注的文化. 从友好的人际关系到小班授课, students are known, cared for, 并以独特的方式受到尊重. 每天报到和每周三次的顾问会议促进了学生与教师的联系,这有助于定义mg冰球突破试玩的体验.

所有这些都是在一个学生与教师比例为8:1的环境中进行的,而且储物柜没有锁,因为这个社区是建立在尊重和信任的基础上的.

Outstanding results and opportunities

虽然我们的课程不是专门为帮助学生通过州考试而设计的, 尽管如此,我们的学生还是为标准化考试做好了充分的准备. 高年级学生的ACT和SAT成绩始终高于全国和私立学校的平均水平. 优秀的核心课程辅以大学先修课程, as well as elective classes, 比如《mg冰球突破试玩》, Cultural Anthropology, and International Relations.

去年,37名MVCDS学生被指定为APmg冰球突破试玩. 一个是国家APmg冰球突破试玩, 11 as AP Scholars of Distinction, 5 as AP Scholars with Honors, and 20 as AP Scholars. 还有像Intensives这样的创新机会, the Seal of Biliteracy Program, 和全球mg冰球突破试玩证书也挑战学生,为他们进入顶尖大学做准备. 高中培养终身学习者和世界公民.

group photo for maumee valley

一直在美国最顶尖的大学就读

课堂内外的出色表现延伸到了大学录取过程中. 因为mg冰球突破试玩令人难以置信的声誉, 择优录取大学的传统, 以及学生参与的机会, lead, and engage, 我们的毕业生通常都能进入他们首选的大学.

我们每年都达到百分之百的四年制大学入学率, 我们的绝大多数校友都获得了高等学位.

超过75%的mg冰球突破试玩大四学生获得了大学奖学金.

Intensives

Upper School’s signature program

mg冰球突破试玩强化项目在该地区是独一无二的. 高年级学生每年秋季有三个密集的学习阶段, winter and spring, with each lasting three weeks. 学生的高中生涯每年在三周的强化和12周的轮转之间进行.

Why Intensives?

  • Experiential learning
  • Problem-solving in the real word
  • Life-Changing Experiences
  • Travel domestically and abroad
  • Cultural immersion
  • 专业人脉和实习
  • Independent study projects

学生可以选择包括校园体验在内的课程, local and international trips, and independent study projects. By the end of their fourth year, mg冰球突破试玩的毕业生培养了广泛的经验知识和技能,为他们在更具竞争力的水平上接受教育做好了更好的准备. 强化课程通过提供对一个主题的深入研究,并在获得学分的同时提供进一步探索个人学术途径的机会,从而提高他们的学习水平.

国外有五颜六色的衣服 World travel

On average, 令人惊讶的是,70%的高中学生在毕业前出国留学, 充分利用去法国等令人难以置信的目的地旅行的机会, Ecuador, China, Guatemala, Egypt, South Africa, Turkey, and Thailand.

在国外有盘子的学生Life-changing experiences

学生们经常利用这些沉浸式体验来探索未来的职业生涯. 事实证明,强化训练在帮助学生决定他们余生想做什么方面具有很大的影响力.

teacher pointing at boardPromoting confidence

Intensives promote connected learning, independence, commitment to personal goals, 此外,随着学生积累了丰富的经历,他们的职业关系网也会增强他们在大学录取过程中的竞争力.

student in recording roomIndependent study

最近的独立研究包括医学研究, marketing internships, 了解发展中国家的食品安全, 以及国际商务概论.

Advanced Placement

Challenging and engaging

开设的课程既有速成课程,也有多学科课程. Selected students in 10th, 11th, 12年级的学生可以通过大学理事会的大学先修课程(AP)学习大学水平的课程。.

Currently, 高年级学生可以选择广泛的大学先修课程,如2-D & 3-D Design, Biology, Chemistry, Chinese Language, English Language and Composition, English Literature and Composition, Music Theory, Physics, Spanish, and U.S. History.

因为我们课程的严格性, 通常建议学生每年不超过三门AP课程. However, 如果学生想要学习更具挑战性的课程, 与顾问和大学辅导员的会面很容易安排. (如果学生想参加不作为课程提供的AP考试, an order can be placed for that exam. 然而,学生的考试准备将不得不在课堂外完成.)

去年春天参加大学先修课程考试的80名mg冰球突破试玩学生中,有46%的人被美国大学理事会指定为APmg冰球突破试玩,以表彰他们在大学先修课程考试中的优异成绩. 在全国范围内,到2022年,这一比例仅为18%左右.全球有800万名参加AP考试的高中生表现出足够高的水平,值得AP Scholar的认可.

Academic Support

Dayal Center for Academic Excellence

达亚尔学术卓越中心(DCAE)为所有中学生和高年级学生提供学术支持,帮助他们发挥学术和个人潜力. In addition, 该中心协调同伴和专业辅导, provides study-skill assistance, 并在集训期间支持独立学习体验.

Tutoring

在中学和高中的所有课程中,学生都可以获得定期和旁听辅导. 导师可能包括mg冰球突破试玩的学生、家长、朋友、校友和专业导师. 因为我们的目标是让学生尽可能独立思考, 导师采取个性化的方法. 导师与学生支持人员和课堂教师密切合作,设计有效的支持. 辅导可以安排在空闲时间、午餐时间或放学后.

Study Assistance

为需要发展时间管理技能的学生提供个性化帮助, organization, note-taking, reading comprehension, test preparation, and test anxiety. 重点放在具体的学习策略,旨在支持每个学生的学习概况. 课程还旨在促进基本生活技能的发展, including critical thinking, problem-solving, and stress management. 所有九年级的学生在秋季强化课程和第一个12周的轮转期间与学生支持专家会面. 任何学生都可以在空闲时间或放学后要求学习技巧方面的帮助.

The DCAE Staff

  • 与学校的教育心理学家协调, intervention specialist, school counselor, school nurse, faculty, and advisors
  • 为有学习差异的学生提供帮助(课外测试), SAT/ACT/AP accommodations, group, 以及针对每个学生具体需求制定应对策略的个人支持)
  • 促进学生和大学咨询主任之间的讨论,以建立简历, set up independent studies, and connect with enrichment programs
  • Offers SAT/ACT/AP test preparation

Our Upper School Staff

Dr. Jami Barnes

Jami Barnes

Dean of Academics and Registrar
Upper School Science Teacher
jbarnes@jj66g.net

Brian Bozanich

Brian Bozanich

Upper School Director of Theatre
bbozanich@jj66g.net

Mallory Brazeau

Mallory Brazeau

Upper School Math Teacher
mbrazeau@jj66g.net

Charles Brown

Charles Brown

Vocal Music Teacher
cbrown@jj66g.net

Colleen Browning-Nyaosi

Colleen Browning-Nyaosi

International Program Manager
cbrowning@jj66g.net

Gracie Chamberlain

Gracie Chamberlain

Upper School Math Teacher
gchamberlain@jj66g.net

Martha Chandran-Dickerson

Martha Chandran-Dickerson

Upper School English Teacher
mchandran-dickerson@jj66g.net

Dan Cohen

Dan Cohen

Upper School Social Studies Teacher
dcohen@jj66g.net

Robert Daine

Robert Daine

Upper School Math Teacher
mdaine@jj66g.net

Sara Dowling

Sara Dowling

School Psychologist
419-381-1313 ext. 143
sdowling@jj66g.net

Harman Stephanie

Stephanie Harman

Head of Upper School (grades 9-12)
sharman@jj66g.net
419-381-1313 ext. 151

Kate Fleming

Kate Fleming

Upper School Social Studies Teacher
大学心理咨询助理主任
全球领导力项目联合主任
kfleming@jj66g.net

Trent Hayes

Trent Hayes

Director of College Counseling
thayes@jj66g.net

Lynnell Jefferson

Lynnell Jefferson

前台接待及高中行政助理
ljefferson@jj66g.net

Cecilia Johnson

Cecilia Johnson

高中,初中,初中弦乐教师
cjohnson@jj66g.net

Kristin Kowalski

Kristin Kowalski

Middle and Upper School Art Teacher
Director of the Wolfe Gallery
Fine Arts Department Chair
kkowalski@jj66g.net

Sara Lester

Sara Lester

Upper School Humanities Teacher
English Department Chair
Yearbook Sponsor
slester@jj66g.net

Niki McCoy

Niki McCoy

Director of Residential Life
nmccoy@jj66g.net

Christopher McNulty

Christopher McNulty

Upper School Science Teacher
cmcnulty@jj66g.net

Adriana McNally

Adriana McNally

Upper School Spanish Teacher
US World Languages Department Chair
amcnally@jj66g.net

Erin McNulty

Erin McNulty

Upper School English Teacher
emcnulty@jj66g.net

Virginia Morris

Virginia Morris

高中英语第二语言教师
vmorris@jj66g.net

Dan Mumford

Dan Mumford

Upper School Social Studies Teacher
Model United Nations Coordinator
dmumford@jj66g.net

Kelsy Oberhaus

Kelsy Oberhaus

Upper School Spanish Teacher
全球领导力项目联合主任
koberhaus@jj66g.net

Erin Ohls

Erin Ohls

Intervention Specialist
eohls@jj66g.net

Phil Paskvan

Phil Paskvan

Director of Technology
ppaskvan@jj66g.neth

Adam Porth

Adam Porth

Upper School Math Teacher
aporth@jj66g.net

RAKOSIK HEATHER

Heather Rakosik

高中体育教师
Assistant Athletic Director
hrakosik@jj66g.net

Brandon Slotterbeck

Brandon Slotterbeck

Upper School Science Teacher
bslotterbeck@jj66g.net

Jana Smith

Jana Smith

Upper School Dean of Students
jsmith@jj66g.net

Bennett Whitaker

Bennett Whitaker

Director of Student Support
Upper School Support Specialist
bwhitaker@jj66g.net

Carol Yuan

Carol Yuan

高中普通话教师
高中独立学习校园导师
cyuan@jj66g.net

Bailey

Bailey

Support Dog

Headlines from the Upper School